I’m Still Alive! (Random, Disorganized Updates)

2

September 4, 2013 by ray_emily

I know, I’ve completely disappeared. You probably stopped following me, thinking this blog died a sad and tragic death. (Or, more realistically, you didn’t even notice I’d fallen out of the blogosphere…. Alas.)

It is very sad, I know.

I want back in – but man, it is so hard to find the time. Also, this break from blogging seems to have revived my intense feelings of fear and intimidation. So many brainy bloggers out there! (mope-mope-mope)

But! I’m going to try again.

I’m going to put forth some updates. Nothing breathtaking, but, you know… I’m feeling good these days. It is nice to be back at work, and I’ve got this feeling that I’m being creative and thoughtful, again. And so, I feel ready to share. (That feeling fizzled a bit in the spring semester, last year – which is part of why I stopped blogging.)

Recently, I did the clock project (which I think came from Coefficients of Determination, originally?) but put a little bit of thought into structuring the activity thoughtfully so my classroom wasn’t mass chaos. (I attempted the clock project last year, too – and things were a bit crazy. So much freedom for the kiddos! Also, so many possible errors when it comes to writing expressions involving the order of operations!) Anyhow, I’d like to write about those improvements here, and also reflect on additional improvements I might make in the future. I dig the project a lot – and am grateful to its inventor!

Also, we did this integers comic strip project that I like pretty well, which some of y’all might be interested in grabbing. I’m telling you here and now that this happened so that maybe I won’t avoid writing about it forever. The project is fun for the kids but could use a bit of sprucing up. Maybe I can grab some ideas from you people?

Integer-nary happened – but this year’s version was new and improved (thanks, Timon!) and I felt pretty good about it. Hoping to use this idea / structure in the future, as I liked how it fostered thinking and not automaticity. I’m REALLY pleased (okay, proud!) that I did not at all tell my kids the rules for adding and subtracting integers – not once, ever. (Dude. It was hard to resist.) I made them draw a million number lines and positive / negative chips and they groaned and groaned but then figured stuff out on their own. (Some kiddos are still confused – but when I think about it, I know that this would be the case even if I’d given explicit rules. Unfortunately, I very rarely have 100% of my kids totally on board with what I’m teaching.)

I’m also in a graduate program that I’m enjoying a lot, which has inspired some good thinking that I’d love to process and share here.

Also going to re-attempt this grand project wherein each kid has his / her personal math blog. Fingers crossed that I see it through to the finish, this year.

And finally, thanks much to Courtney and Jeff for the kind Liebster Award nominations. I’m flattered to be in such good company! Hoping to someday write a post accepting the nomination and also share the love with some other folks.

2 thoughts on “I’m Still Alive! (Random, Disorganized Updates)

  1. Huzzah! Glad to see you posting again. I also fell out of blogging last year when the school year started. Definitely trying to do better this year at posting more consistently (I’m aiming for once a week, no matter how little or much I have to say). It helps to stay connected, I think.

    And I definitely understand feeling intimidated. I always feel like the things I have to say aren’t that great, whereas everyone else is brilliant. The important thing is to just blog! Everyone has really cool things to say and offer.

  2. I’m glad to hear you resisted the urge to give them the rules straight up. I’ve been working on that too, it’s hard! Glad you’re keeping the blog going too, I love hearing what you and those tiny humans are up to over there :) I haven’t written yet this year, gotta get on that.

Leave a Reply

My Web 2.0 Journey

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

ThinkThankThunk

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Always Formative

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

the radical rational...

in search of innovative ideas with a well-balanced approach for the math classroom

The Number Warrior

Assorted posts on mathematics and education

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Teaching Statistics

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

square root of negative one teach math

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Pi Crust

An accomplished novice wonders about the challenges of depth over breadth. For musings on parenting and technology, check out bedtimebits.wordpress.com

{Musing Mathematically}

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

MT|SM

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

misscalcul8

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Megan Hayes-Golding

Still learning.

Mathy McMatherson

Bloggy McBloggerson

Math Mama Writes...

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Math Goes Pop

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Lines and Lines of Tangency

mathematical asides

Learning to Fold

a work in progress

I Speak Math

Integrating Technology and Mathematics

I Hope This Old Train Breaks Down...

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Comments on: Khan Academy Does Angry Birds

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

DOING MATHEMATICS - blog

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

