Student Art

2

August 13, 2012 by ray_emily

So! Everyone in the mathtwitterblogosphere is partaking in this super fun #Made4Math meme. Standing on the sidelines, I am amazed by all of the creativity – and also feeling a little left out. Turns out, I rarely make things for math – at least not in the scissors / glue / markers sense of the word.

My students, however, are totally crafty! Consequently, student-work is my go-to classroom decor. Despite my reluctance to craft, I do very much like to be surrounded by prettiness. Hanging up the stuff they create not only makes them feel all warm and fuzzy – it enables me to avoid bulletin board decorating and poster making and all that other stuff that I don’t get too excited about.

This Monday, rather than sharing something that I have crafted for my class, I’m going to cop out and share with you some really awesome student artwork. (Alas, maybe someday I will join the ranks and actually make something myself!)

Disclaimer: A few weeks ago, Marshall (@MTChirps) wrote about how tessellations are one of five math topics he’s bored with. He asked, “Is there anything challenging about chopping off a piece of a square and pasting it on the other side?” (Haha.) I hear you, Marshall. In my defense: During standardized testing week, the gazillions of soul-sucking bubbles have my kids feeling tense. Working on tessellations, post-testing, is a nice way to chill out – and simultaneously do something (kinda sorta) mathematical. (Yay, transformations!) Some kids get really into it, and end up with beautiful, expressive final products. All in all, it is a fluff activity, though. I can’t deny it.

[Now I’m wondering: Maybe I could think up some way to make this task a more rigorous one? Like, have them map their tessellations onto the coordinate plane and write rules for the translations? Or something? This is totally an under-developed idea. Does anyone out there do anything to give this activity a little more oomph?] 

Anyhow, mostly I just want to show off. Enjoy!

Some really lovely pen/ink work, as well as color pencil shading, below.

Of course, someone included a fleur-de-lis.
There is even puffy paint in one of these!

Okay, one last note. I want to show you a close-up of the tessellation in the lower right-hand corner. See that woman with the big, nerdy round glasses and the shirt with a capital T?

“T” stands either for my last name, or for “teacher,” or both. Take your pick.

Now seems like a good time to note: I absolutely LOVE that I am ridiculously easy for students to render, artistically. Here is the formula, which never fails: Short Hair + Huge, Round Glasses = Ms. Tabak.

(I suppose I should post a picture of myself, here, so you can appreciate the humor, and recognize the uncanny resemblance. Hmmm….)

Oh, if you’ve never done tessellations with your kids, there are no doubt a million explanations, online. To save you 30 seconds, I’ll direct you to Dan Meyer’s instructions – from way back in the day – here and here. (I didn’t use a hexagonal base, as you might note. I gave each kid half of a 3×5 note card – in other words, a rectangular base.)

2 thoughts on “Student Art

  1. druinok says:

    What a great submission! I loved doing Tesselations with my students! Thanks so much for joining in!

  2. Barb says:

    Yes, it’s your mom here. You definitely should post a photo with this column. That ‘formula’ is so perfect!

Leave a Reply

My Web 2.0 Journey

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

ThinkThankThunk

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Always Formative

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

the radical rational...

in search of innovative ideas with a well-balanced approach for the math classroom

The Number Warrior

Assorted posts on mathematics and education

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Teaching Statistics

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

square root of negative one teach math

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Pi Crust

An accomplished novice wonders about the challenges of depth over breadth. For musings on parenting and technology, check out bedtimebits.wordpress.com

{Musing Mathematically}

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

MT|SM

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

misscalcul8

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Megan Hayes-Golding

Still learning.

Mathy McMatherson

Bloggy McBloggerson

Math Mama Writes...

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Math Goes Pop

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Lines and Lines of Tangency

mathematical asides

Learning to Fold

a work in progress

I Speak Math

Integrating Technology and Mathematics

I Hope This Old Train Breaks Down...

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

dy/dan

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

DOING MATHEMATICS - blog

Some thoughts from a middle school math teacher.

